The best desserts around the world! by Lola Dodge & Deadly Sweet Giveaway

Categories: book tour, giveaway, guest post, Lola Dodge, magic, paranormal, The Spellwork Syndicate series, witches, Xpresso Book Tours, ya

Deadly Sweet (The Spellwork Syndicate #1)


by Lola Dodge
(Spellwork Syndicate #1)
Published by: Ink Monster LLC
Publication date: January 16th 2018
Genres: Young Adult Paranormal

For fans of Hex Hall, The Magicians, Practical Magic, and Food Wars!
Anise Wise loves three things: baking, potion making, and reading her spellbooks in blissful silence. She might not be the most powerful witch, but enchantment is a rare skill, and her ability to bake with magic is even rarer. Too bad one wants witchcraft on their campus. Anise’s dream of attending pastry school crumbles with rejection letter after rejection letter.
Desperate to escape her dead-end future, Anise contacts the long-lost relative she’s not supposed to know about. Great Aunt Agatha owns the only magic bakery in the US, and she suddenly needs a new apprentice. Anise is so excited she books it to New Mexico without thinking to ask what happened to the last girl.
The Spellwork Syndicate rules the local witches in Taos, but as “accidents” turn into full-out attacks on Anise’s life, their promises to keep her safe are less and less reassuring. Her cranky bodyguard is doing his best, but it’s hard to fight back when she has no idea who’s the enemy. Or why she became their target.
If Anise can’t find and stop whoever wants her dead, she’ll be more toasted than a crème brûlée.
Who knew baking cakes could be so life or death?

Amazon / Barnes & Noble / iBooks


Guest Post: The best desserts around the world!
by Lola Dodge

As a mostly nomadic person and dessert aficionado, I always prioritize tasting the local sweets when I land in a new country. I’ve been lucky to taste amazing things all over the world. Here are a few of my favorite treats from my favorite places:

Singapore: egg tarts
I generally stay in Chinatown when I’m in the city, mostly because it has the greatest food available all the time. Tong Heng Confectionary is regular egg tart pig-out spot (although I’ll buy them wherever else I see them in the windows, too!).
https://www.facebook.com/tongheng.sg/

Taiwan: pineapple bread
I’ve spent about two years living in Taiwan and will inevitably go back (I always do!) so it’s hard to limit this one to a single dessert. I love everything from the puddings at 7-11 to mountains of shaved ice and the candied strawberries on a stick at the night market. If I absolutely have to pick one I’d choose pineapple bread—which is crunch outside, soft inside, and looks sort of like a pineapple but isn’t baked with any pineapple.’

France: apple tarts
When I go to Paris, I eat as much bread and pastry as possible (obviously) and try to start every morning with a chausson aux pommes. Any old corner bakery will have phenomenal ones.

Czech Republic: wafer candy bars
I have no idea why wafers are so popular here, but I’m all for it and buy half the candy aisle whenever I’m in Prague.

New Zealand: pavlova
The one time I tried to make it myself, I splatted it all over the oven, so I have to stick to buying this light, fruit-topped treat.

Thailand: mango sticky rice
I could eat sticky rice by the bucketful and adding fresh mango only makes this one even more delicious.
Honorable mention: Banana (or taro!) in coconut milk

Korea: egg bread
Gyeran bbang is my favorite thing to eat on the street in Seoul. It’s sweet and wonderfully warm when it’s cold outside!

GIVEAWAY!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Author Bio:

Lola Dodge is a compulsive traveler, baker, and procrastinator. She earned her BA in English from Stonehill College and MFA in Writing Popular Fiction from Seton Hill University–and hasn’t stopped moving since. When she’s not on the road, Lola spends her time indoors where the sunlight can’t melt her, writing or bingeing on anime and cherry soda. She can be summoned in a ritual involving curry, Hello Kitty idols, and a solid chocolate pentagram.

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter


The_Butterfly_Livia

The_Butterfly_Livia

Book lover, customizations OCD-er and list-lover extraordinaire. Unrepentant coffee addict, smutty romance and sexy bad boys/villains lover of doom.
I read, I write, I spamificate -- therefore I am.

Livia social:
Goodreads~~~Twitter~~~Facebook~~~YouTube~~~@
The_Butterfly_Livia

One thought on “The best desserts around the world! by Lola Dodge & Deadly Sweet Giveaway

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge